Skip to main content

Godavari River

Description of this tag
The Godavari River is the second longest river in India after the river Ganges having its source at Tryambakeshwar, Maharashtra. It starts in Maharashtra and flows east for 1,465 kilometres (910 mi) emptying into Bay of Bengal draining the Indian states Maharashtra (48.6%), Telangana( 18.8%), Andhra Pradesh (4.5%), Chhattisgarh (10.9%), Madhya Pradesh (10.0%), Odisha (5.7%) and Karnataka (1.4%) through its extensive network of tributaries. Measuring up to 312,812 km2 , it forms one of the largest river basins in the Indian subcontinent, with only the Ganges and Indus rivers having a drainage basin larger than it in India. In terms of length, catchment area and discharge, the Godavari river is the largest in peninsular India and had been dubbed as the 'Dakshina Ganga' - the South Ganges river The river has been revered in Hindu scriptures since many millennia and continues to harbour and nourish rich cultural heritages. However, in the past few decades, the river has been abused with a relentless construction of barrages and dams. The river delta, supporting 729 persons/km2 - nearly twice the density average for the nation, has been categorised as having substantial risk to greater risk of flooding with rising sea levels.
(Choose a content type to filter listed content)
There are 43 content items for the content type chosen by you under
Sammakka Saralamma Jatara Medaram

Sammakka Saralamma Jatara or Medaram Jatara is a tribal festival of honouring the goddesses celebrated in the state of Telangana, India.

Puruhutika Devi Sakthipeeth Pithapuram

Pithapuram is formerly called as Pithikapuram / Pushkara kshetra in Puranas and Tantras.

Sri Veerabhadra Swamy Temple Pattiseema

Sri Veerabhadra Swamy or Sri Veereswara Swamy Temple is located on Deva-kuta Hill in the middle of the River Godavari at Pattiseema Village.

Sri Vasavi Kanyaka Parameswari Temple Penugonda

Penugonda is the birth place of Goddess Sri Vasavi Kannika Parameshwari .Sri Vasavi Kannika Parameshwari Temple is situated in Penugonda ,a town in

Sri Venkateswara Swamy Temple Vadapalli

The village is famous for Vaadapalli Venkanna Swamy Temple. It is a historic temple which was developed later in a wide spacious land.

Janasthan Devi Temple Nashik

Janasthan Shakti Peetha is the most famous Shakti Peetha where it is said that the “Chin” of Maa Sati fell and the idols are Devi Maa as Bhramari a

Sri Maridamma Temple Peddapuram

Peddapuram Maridamma temple is famous for its Maridamma festival, celebrated for thirty-one days from the Amavasya in the month of Jyeshtha to the

Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple Dharmapuri

Temple is dedicated to the Lord Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy, an incarnation of Lord Vishnu.

Trimbakeshwar Jyothirling Nashik

Trimbakeshwar or Tryambakeshwar is an ancient Hindu temple in the town of Trimbak, in the Trimbakeshwar tehsil in the Nashik District of Maharashtr

Shirdi Sai Baba Temple Shirdi

Shirdi Saibaba Temple, located at Shirdi, Maharashtra, India attracts millions of devotees of all religions, castes and creed who come to pay homag

Sri Badrakali Sametha Sri Veereswara Swamy Muramalla

The ancient temple of Lord Veereswara Swamy and Goddess Bhadrakali is located in this village.

Ayyappa Swamy Temple Dwarapudi

Dwarapudi Ayyappa Temple is located at the Dwarapudi village in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.

Saneeswara Temple Mandapalli

Mandapalli Mandeshwara Swamy Temple is the most popular Shani Temples in Andhra Pradesh.

Sree Seetha Ramachandra Swamy Vaari Devasthanam Bhadrachalam

Bhadrachalam Temple is a historic Hindu temple of Lord Sree Sita Ramachandra Swamy located in Telangana, India.The area is called as Bhadrachalam a

Manikyamba Devi Sakthipeeth Draksharamam

Manikyamba Devi is the wife of Lord Bhimeswara Swamy.

Adhivaraha Swamy Temple Kamanpur

Adhivaraha Swamy temple is the very historical temple in of the very few temples of this kind in AP & Telangana.

Sri Kota Sattemma Ammavari Temple Nidadavolu

Ammavaru weighing tones and 10 feet height as a beautiful appearance.

Kumararama Temple In Samalkot

Bhimavara Kshetram with its famous temple of Kumararama - Bhimesvara.

Sri Someswara Janardhana Swamy Temple In Bhimavaram

Somaramam is also known as Sri Someswara Janardhana Swamy Temple located at Gunupidi near Bhimavaram of West Godavari district.

Sri Someswara Swamy Temple Kotipalli

Sri Someswara Swamy Temple is located on River Gautami at Kotipalli in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.

Sri Janardhana Swamy Temple Dhavaleswaram

Sri Janardhana Swamy Temple is located on banks of River Godavari at Dhavaleswaram in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.Lord Vishnu is presi

Ryali Temple Atreyapuram

In local language Ryali means fall.

Bhimeswara Temple Draksharamam

Bhimeswara is located in East Godavari District near Kakinada.

Sri Golingeswara Swamy Temple Bikkavolu

Sri Golingeswara Swamy Temple is located at Biccavolu in East Godavari District of Andhra Pradesh.Lord Shiva is the presiding deity here in the div

Goshpada Kshetram Kovvru

Sri Subrahmanyeswara or Nageswara Swamy Temple or Goshpada Kshetram is Shiva temple located at Kovvuru,Andhra Pradesh.

Ksheera Ramalingeswara Swamy Temple Palakollu

Ksheera Ramalingeswara Swamy Temple located at Palakollu of West Godavari district in Andhra Pradesh.

Gnana Saraswati Temple Basar

Gnana Saraswati Temple is a Hindu temple of Goddess Saraswati located on the banks of Godavari River at Basar, Telangana, India.It is one of the tw

Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Temple Rajahmundry

Temple is located at a distance of 60 km from Kakinada,20 Km from Rajahmundry and 110 km from Amalapuram.This is an ancient and historical temple a

Koti Lingala Temple Velagatoor

Koti Lingala temple is situated in Karimnagar. It is one of the very oldest and historical temples in Karimnagar.

Sundar Narayan Temple Nashik

The ancient Sundar Narayan temple of Nashik. The door is designed such that rays of rising sun touch the feet of the God Vishnu.

Sri Venugopala Swamy Temple khammam

The principal deity of this shrine is Lord Sri Venu Gopala Swamy.

Satyanarayana Swamy Temple Gudem Gutta

Gudem Gutta is a popular temple place in the mancherial District in the northern Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh.

Sri Kaleshwara Mukteswara Swamy Temple Kaleshwaram

This ancient temple is dedicated to the worship of Lord Shiva.

Talupulamma Thalli Temple Lova

Wedged between 2 heavily forested hillocks, stands the Thalupulamma Thalli Lova Temple offering a breathtaking view of the valley below which is ju

Sri Vighneswara Swamy Temple Ainavilli

Students from various parts of East and West Godavari districts descended on this tiny village of Konaseema on Tuesday to get at least one ‘lucky’

Kalaram Temple Nashik

Kalaram Temple is an old Hindu shrine dedicated to Rama.

Sri Uma Markandeyeswara Swamy Temple Rajahmundry

Lord Shiva resides in Rajahmundry in the form of Uma Markandeyeswara Swami.

Venugopala Swamy Devastanam Rajahmundry

There is a story behind the temple history that is this temple was changed into a mosque in 1323 by Mohmod Deen Thuklak but in the 14th century, th

Sri Golingeswara Swamy Vari Devasthanam Nidadavolu

Sri Golingeswara Swamy Vari Devasthanam is located at Nidadavole in West Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.

Lakshmi Narasimha Temple Antarvedi

Lakshmi Narasimha Temple is situated in temple town named Antarvedi of Sakhinetipalle Mandal, located in the East Godavari district of the Andhra P

Sai Baba Ashramam Khammam

Daily pujas will be done here.Names will keep here for newly born Kids.

Uma Koppu Lingeswara Swamy Temple Palivela

One can see the magnificent Lingam of the Lord with matted locks around it in the sacred temple of Sri Koppulingeswara Swamy.

Sri Venugopala Swamy Temple Iravendi

Sri Venugopala Swamy Temple is Vishnu temple located at Iravendi.