Skip to main content

East Godavari

Description of this tag

East Godavari district is a district in Coastal Andhra region of Andhra Pradesh, India. Its district headquarters is at Kakinada. As of Census 2011, it is the most populous district of the state with a population of 5,151,549. Rajahmundry and Kakinada are the two largest cities in the Godavari districts in terms of population. East Godavari districts montage The district of Rajahmundry was reorganised in 1859 into two districts of Godavari and Krishna. Godavari district was further bifurcated into East and West Godavari districts in 1925. After Nov 1956's Andhra Pradesh was formed by combining parts of Nizam, Ceded and Circars, in 1959, the Bhadrachalam revenue division, consisting of Bhadrachalam and Naguru Taluks of East Godavari district were merged into the Khammam district. After June 2014's reorganisation and division of Andhra Pradesh, the mandals of Bhadrachalam , Nellipaka, Chinturu, Kunavaram and Vararamchandrapuram were re-added back to East Godavari District

(Choose a content type to filter listed content)
There are 28 content items for the content type chosen by you under East Godavari
Puruhutika Devi Sakthipeeth Pithapuram

Pithapuram is formerly called as Pithikapuram / Pushkara kshetra in Puranas and Tantras. The temple of Puruhutika Devi is located within the temple campus of Kukkuteswara Swamy.

Rama Temple Gollala Mamidada

Situated on the banks of river “Thulya Bhaga”, Gollalamamidada Rama is a well-known pilgrimage centre located in East Godavari District of Andhra Pradesh.The temple is known by the name of Sri Koda

Sri Venkateswara Swamy Temple Vadapalli

The village is famous for Vaadapalli Venkanna Swamy Temple. It is a historic temple which was developed later in a wide spacious land.

Sri Maridamma Temple Peddapuram

Peddapuram Maridamma temple is famous for its Maridamma festival, celebrated for thirty-one days from the Amavasya in the month of Jyeshtha to the Amavasya in the month of Ashadha.

Sri Badrakali Sametha Sri Veereswara Swamy Muramalla

The ancient temple of Lord Veereswara Swamy and Goddess Bhadrakali is located in this village.

Ayyappa Swamy Temple Dwarapudi

Dwarapudi Ayyappa Temple is located at the Dwarapudi village in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh. Lord Ayyappa is the presiding deity of the temple.

Saneeswara Temple Mandapalli

Mandapalli Mandeshwara Swamy Temple is the most popular Shani Temples in Andhra Pradesh. The temple is located at Mandapalli in Kothapeta Mandal in East Godavari district.

Manikyamba Devi Sakthipeeth Draksharamam

Manikyamba Devi is the wife of Lord Bhimeswara Swamy. Lord Bhimeswara Swamy temple is one of the Pancharama kshetras and is considered as one of the Trilinga kshetras.

Kumararama Temple In Samalkot

Bhimavara Kshetram with its famous temple of Kumararama - Bhimesvara. The village was known in the past as Chalukya Bhimavaram according to the inscriptions found in the temple.

Sri Veera Venkata Satyanarayana Swamy Temple Annavaram

Annavaram temple of Lord Sri Veera Venkata Satyanarayana Swamy is located at a distance of 125 KM from Visakhapatnam and 80 KM from Rajahmundry.National Highway number 5 passes through Annavaram.

Sri Someswara Swamy Temple Kotipalli

Sri Someswara Swamy Temple is located on River Gautami at Kotipalli in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.

Sri Janardhana Swamy Temple Dhavaleswaram

Sri Janardhana Swamy Temple is located on banks of River Godavari at Dhavaleswaram in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.Lord Vishnu is presiding in the form of Sri Janardhana Swamy as Swayam

Bhimeswara Temple Draksharamam

Bhimeswara is located in East Godavari District near Kakinada.

Ryali Temple Atreyapuram

In local language Ryali means fall. As per Bhagavatam, Lord Vishnu takes the guise of Mohini to rescue Devatas against Rakshasas during Samudra Mathana for getting Amrutam .

Sri Golingeswara Swamy Temple Bikkavolu

Sri Golingeswara Swamy Temple is located at Biccavolu in East Godavari District of Andhra Pradesh.Lord Shiva is the presiding deity here in the divine form of Sri Golingeswara Swamy.

Sri Pallalamma Ammavari Temple Vanapalli

The Diety of the temple Sri "Pallalamma" Ammavaru is situated in the village of Vanapalli of Kothapeta Mandal in East Godavari District.This temple is one of the greatest temples of Deities in Andh

Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Temple Rajahmundry

Temple is located at a distance of 60 km from Kakinada,20 Km from Rajahmundry and 110 km from Amalapuram.This is an ancient and historical temple and also a Vaishnava Divya Kshetra.The daily ritual

Kadali Kapotheeswara Swamy Kadali

Kapotheeswara Swamy is a unique temple, also known as Swayambu Shiva Lingam. Subramanyar is the form of Nagar here.

Appanapalli Bala Balaji Temple Appanapalli

Appanapalli Bala Balaji Temple is dedicated to Lord Venkateswara.The deity is believed to be self-manifested here.

Talupulamma Thalli Temple Lova

Wedged between 2 heavily forested hillocks, stands the Thalupulamma Thalli Lova Temple offering a breathtaking view of the valley below which is just a sample of the natural beauty of East Godavari