Skip to main content


Description of this tag
According to Siva Mahapurana, once Brahma and Vishnu had an argument over supremacy of creation. To settle the debate, Supreme God Shiva pierced the three worlds appearing as a huge Infinite Pillar of Light, the Jyotirlinga which later cooled into the Holy Mountain Annamalai . Vishnu and Brahma split their ways to downwards and upwards respectively to find the end of the light in either direction. Brahma lied that he found out the end, while Vishnu conceded his defeat. The jyotirlinga is the Supreme Siva, partless reality, out of which Shiva appeared in another Form, Lingodbhava.The jyotirlinga shrines are Temples where Shiva appeared as a fiery column of light. Originally there were believed to be 64 jyotirlingas while 12 of them are considered to be very auspicious and holy. Each of the twelve jyotirlinga sites goes by the name of the presiding deity, each considered a different manifestation of Shiva. At all these sites, the primary image is lingam representing the beginningless and endless Stambha pillar, symbolising the infinite nature of Shiva.The twelve jyotirlinga are Somnath in Gujarat, Mallikarjuna at Shrishailam in Andhra Pradesh, Mahakaleswar at Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh, Omkareshwar in Madhya Pradesh, Kedarnath in Uttrakhand, Bhimashankar at Pune in Maharashtra, Viswanath at Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, Tryambakeshwar at Nashik in Maharashtra, Vaidyanath Temple at Deoghar in Jharkhand, Aundha Nagnath at Aundha in Hingoli District in Maharashtra, Rameshwar at Rameshwaram in Tamil Nadu and Grushneshwar at Ellora near Aurangabad, in Maharashtra. Locations of Nageswar and Baidyanath are different for different regions. Hence we have given them twice and hence the total number of Jyothirlingas in this site is 14.
(Choose a content type to filter listed content)
There are 15 content items for the content type chosen by you under Jyothirlingas
Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga Ujjain

Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga  is one of the most famous Hindu temples dedicated to Lord Shiva and is one of the twelve Jyotirlingams, which are supposed to be the most sacred abodes of Lord Shiva.

Baba Baidyanath Temple Jharkhand

Baba Baidyanath temple complex consists of the main temple of Baba Baidyanath, where the Jyotirlingam is installed, is at Deoghar in Jharkhand.

Omkareshwar Temple Mandhata Island

Shiva mandir at Omkareshwar located in Madhya Pradesh, on the Mandhata hill island on the Narmada is one of the 12 revered Jyotirlingas.

Trimbakeshwar Jyothirling Nashik

Trimbakeshwar or Tryambakeshwar is an ancient Hindu temple in the town of Trimbak, in the Trimbakeshwar tehsil in the Nashik District of Maharashtra, India, 28 km from the city of Nashik and 40 km

Ramanathaswamy Temple Rameswaram

Ramanathaswamy Temple  is a Hindu temple dedicated to god Shiva located on Rameswaram island in the state of Tamil Nadu, India.

Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga Srisailam

Sri Mallikarjuna Swamy is one of the twelve Jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva situated at Srisailam in South Indian state of Andhra Pradesh. It is one of the 275 Paadal Petra Sthalams.

Kashi Vishwanth Temple Varanasi

Varanasi claims to be the oldest living city in the world, with 3500 years of documented history is also called Kashi and hence the temple is popularly called as Kashi Vishwanath, representin

Bhimashankar Temple Pune

Bhimashankar Temple is a Jyotirlinga shrine located 50 km north-west of Khed, near Pune, in India. It is located 127 km from Shivaji Nagar (Pune) in the Ghat region of the Sahyadri hills.

Aundha Nagnath Hingoli

Aundha Nagnath Temple is an ancient Shiva temple, where shiva is worshipped as Nageshwar is considered to be one of the Jyotirlinga, located at Aundha Nagnath in Hingoli district of Maharashtra, In

Kedarnath Temple Uttarakhand

Kedarnath Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to Bhagwan Shiva. It is in the Garhwal Himalayan range near the Mandakini river in Kedarnath, Uttarakhand in India.

Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga Ellora

Grishneshwar/Grushneshwar Jyotirlinga is one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines mentioned in the Shiva Purana Grishneshwar is believed as the Last or 12th  Jyotirlinga on the earth.

Somnath Jyothorling Temple Gujarath

Somnath JyothirlingaTemple situated near Veraval in Gujarat on the Arabian sea is known as the Shrine Eternal because it has been destroyed 6 times and rebuilt 6 times.

Parli Vaidyath Jyothirling Maharashtra

If one is to draw a line between Kanyakumari and Ujjain, Parali village can be clearly seen on that line. This village is located on the slopes of Meru or Naganarayana Mountain.

Nageshwar Jyotirlinga Dwaraka

Nageshwar Jyotirlinga is one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines mentioned in the Shiva Purana. Nageshvara is believed to be the first such shrine.

Srisailam Brahmotsavam Starts From Today

Srisailam Brahmotsavam 2017 Date and Timings 

Date                Event details 

17 Feb 2017 Dwajarohanam 

18 Feb 2017 Brungi Vahana Seva